Management committee

The science directors heading the VIB research centers are responsible for VIB’s scientific leadership. They form the institute’s management committee together with the general management, the financial director and the personnel manager.

The management committee is responsible for creating institutional added value and developing the institute’s long-term strategy.



  • Prof. dr. Bart Lambrecht, VIB-UGent Center for Inflammation Research
  • Prof. dr. Dirk Inzé, VIB-UGent Center for Plant Systems Biology
  • Prof. dr. Nico Callewaert, VIB-UGent Center for Medical Biotechnology
  • Prof. dr. Diether Lambrechts, VIB-KU Leuven Center for Cancer Biology
  • Prof. dr. Patrik Verstreken, VIB-KU Leuven Center for Brain & Disease Research
  • Prof. dr. Jan Steyaert, VIB-VUB Center for Structural Biology
  • Prof. dr. Christine Van Broeckhoven, VIB-UAntwerp Center for Molecular Neurology
  • Prof. dr. Kevin Verstrepen, VIB-KU Leuven Center for Microbiology 
  • Dr. Jo Bury, VIB Headquarters, Managing Director
  • Dr. Johan Cardoen, VIB Headquarters, Managing Director
  • Rik Audenaert, VIB Headquarters, Chief Financial Officer.
  • Marijke Lein, VIB Headquarters, Human Resources Director
  • Wim Goemare, VIB Headquarters, Chief Operating Officer