Board of directors

The VIB board of directors consists of representatives of universities, industry and the Flemish government. 

The board of directors:

  • heads the association and represents it extrajudicially
  • has full authority over all management actions
  • delegates the association’s daily management to the general management
  • determines the general management’s authorities and inspects their activities
  • has around five annual meetings, during which decisions are made with regard to the institute’s management and strategy
  • drafted a Good Governance Charter and guards its implementation;
  • has 13 members: six Flemish University delegates, four business representatives and three authorised representatives of the Flemish government.

From left to right, top down: Rik Audenaert, Cédric Verschooten, Dieter Deforce, Bruno Lambrecht (replaced by Eric Sleeckx per 28/08/17), Anne De Paepe, Jean-Pierre Timmermans, Danielle Raspoet (until 18/12/17), Hilde Windels, Dirk Inzé, Gino Baron, Liliane Schoofs (replaced by Gerard Govers per 15/12/17), Bart De Moor, Jo Bury, Staf Van Reet, Wim Robberecht (replaced by Chris Van Geet per 15/12/17), Ajit Shetty, André Roef, Luc Moens, Johan Cardoen. Not on the picture: Leen Limbourg per 06/07/18.

Flemish university delegates

  • Chris Van Geet, vice-rector Biomedical Research KU Leuven
  • Gerard Govers, vice-rector Science & Technology, KU Leuven
  • Luc Moens (vice-chairman board of directors), vice-rector Ghent University
  • Anne De Paepe, rector Ghent University
  • Jean-Pierre Timmermans, president of the University Research Council, University of Antwerp
  • Gino Baron, professor Vrije Universiteit Brussel 

Flemish industry delegates

  • Ajit S. Shetty, chairman board of directors
  • Staf Van Reet, managing director Viziphar Biosciences
  • Hilde Windels, managing director Biocartis
  • André Roef, delegate manager Bayer CropScience 
  • Leen Limbourg, founding partner Atoms & Art

Flemish government representatives

  • Dieter Deforce, senior lecturer UGent
  • Bart De Moor, professor, KU Leuven - ESAT-SCD 

Government-appointed directors

  • Cedric Verschooten (government-appointed director for finances), Cabinet of Vice-Minister-President of the Government of Flanders,
    Flemish Minister for Budget, Finance and Energy
  • Eric Sleeckx (government-appointed director for science), Cabinet Economy and Innovation of the Flemish Minister for Work, Economy, Innovation and Sport

Respresentative scientific direction

  • Dirk Inzé, departmental director, VIB Department Plant Systems Biology, UGent

VIB General Management

  • Jo Bury, General Manager VIB
  • Johan Cardoen, General Manager VIB

The two government-appointed directors are present at the board meeting with right of discussion only. The government-appointed director of finances is responsible for financial control of the association’s activities; the government-appointed director of science supervises how the association’s objectives are fleshed out.